33rd annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek launches Friday


ROSSBURG – The 33rd annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek will officially launch Friday, bringing together nine consecutive UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions programs across the state of Ohio.

The 2015 edition of Ohio Sprint Speedweek will visit eight facilities during the nine-day tour while welcoming not only all of the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions regulars but also a dominate force of local and regional contenders. Speedweek competitors will race for no less than $5,000 during their trek across the Buckeye State with the grand finale showcasing a $10,000 top prize on June 27.

“It’s definitely a special week,” said Dale Blaney, defending speedweek champion and current All Star point leader. “I’ve been around it my entire life … even clear back when it started in 1983 … it’s a fun week, but it can also be a stressful week.”

In addition to the prize money being awarded at each event, the Ohio Sprint Speedweek presenting sponsor Cometic Gasket also will award a $3,000 point fund to the top 10 point finishers at the conclusion of the week, as well as a potential $25,000 bonus to any driver who can win five of the nine scheduled events.

“Anytime there is bonus money up for grabs is a great thing and we appreciate it,” Blaney said. “It gets people talking, and it gets a lot of people involved … hopefully we can get all nine nights in and give someone the opportunity to win the bonus money … a lot of guys are coming in to race this deal … it’s going to be tough to win five … you have to win one before you can win five.”

Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket will launch on Friday evening at the Attica Raceway Park in Attica. After their visit to the Attica oval on Friday night, Speedweek travels will make their way to the historic Eldora Speedway in Rossburg on Saturday evening. The Big E has been a staple of grassroots racing since its opening in 1954. The world-famous half-mile oval will host one night of Speedweek competition before travelers turn their attention toward the Waynesfield Raceway Park in Waynesfield on Sunday.

On Monday evening Ohio Sprint Speedweek competitors will face eastern Ohio’s Wayne County Speedway in Orrville. The schedule will move even further east on Tuesday as Speedweek moves ahead to the Sharon Speedway in Hartford. The Wayne County Speedway and Sharon Speedway mini-swing will be the last time Ohio Sprint Speedweek visits the eastern edge of the Buckeye State in 2015.

The Atomic Speedway near Chillicothe will welcome Speedweek fans and racers on Wednesday evening, the lone south-central stop during the nine-day trek across Ohio. From there, teams will move north to the Fremont Speedway in Fremont for the first of two scheduled events on June 25. The Limaland Motorsports Park in Lima will have its share of Speedweek on June 26. The Lima bullring will host the last stop on the Speedweek schedule before racers return to Fremont Speedway for the finale on June 27. The Fremont Speedway finale will feature a $10,000 payday.

Blaney will lead the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions into Ohio Sprint Speedweek. The Lowrider is the current All Star point leader, earning three victories with the series thus far in 2015, as well as an impressive 12 top-five finishes. The Hartford native has 118 career UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions victories and is the all-time win leader.

Former World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series regular Cody Darrah has been an All Star force during the 2015 season and will enter Ohio Sprint Speedweek second in the series standings. The Red Lion, Pennsylvania, native has one victory with America’s Series during the present year and will chase after a career-first Ohio Sprint Speedweek title beginning Friday night.

Chad Kemenah and Hunter Racing will enter the 2015 edition of Ohio Sprint Speedweek third in the All Star standings. The former UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions title holder is a one-time winner with the regional travelers thus far this season and will hunt for a second-career Ohio Sprint Speedweek title beginning at Attica Raceway Park. Kemenah earned his first Speedweek title in 2002.

Other UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions teams expected to be in competition during all of Ohio Sprint Speedweek include Pennsylvania native and 2015 series winner Ryan Smith; Ohio native Sheldon Haudenschild; former All Star series champion Greg Wilson; 2010 Knoxville Nationals champion and former All Star champion Tim Shaffer; Pittsburgh native Danny Holtgraver; recent series winner and Kokomo, Indiana, native Parker Price-Miller as well as Caleb Helms, Andrew Palker, Danny Smith and Travis Philo.

Those seeking additional information regarding the 33rd annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket should visit the official online home of the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions at www.allstarsprint.com. Updates and breaking news regarding Speedweek and the All Stars will be posted regularly on the official Twitter account of the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions: https://twitter.com/ASCoC.

No posts to display