Francis wins Ringer Classic


Alan Francis of Defiance, the reigning world champion, won the men’s Class A championship of the Ringer Classic on Sunday in Greenville.

GREENVILLE – Reigning world champion Alan Francis won the men’s championship at the 55th annual Ringer Classic horseshoe tournament this past weekend in Greenville.

Francis, who has won 19 horseshoe pitching world championships since 1989, won the men’s Class A championship with a 5-0 record and a 90.0 ringer percentage. Tony Hankins finished second, Jim Walters finished third, Mark Seibold finished fourth, Gary Roberts finished fifth, and Darryl Miller finished sixth.

Tom Guill won the men’s Class B championship with a 6-0 record and a 47.73 ringer percentage. Joe Orihood finished second, Delbert Fourman finished third, John Knapp Sr. finished fourth, Steve Mikesell finished fifth, David Hampton finished sixth, and Hop Muter finished seventh.

John Passmore won the men’s Class C championship with a 4-1 record and a 38.31 ringer percentage. Brian Fisher finished second, Josh Brooks finished third, Dan Homan finished fourth, Ralph Fleckenstein finished fifth, and Brian Conner finished sixth.

Dan Smith won the men’s Class D championship with a 6-1 record and a 38.68 ringer percentage. AJ Knapp finished second, Jeffrey Kern finished third, Mitch Duncan finished fourth, Michael Young finished fifth, Dick Lucas finished sixth, Doug Singer finished seventh, and Randy Shoemaker finished eighth.

Joe Post won the men’s Class E championship with a 7-0 record and a 28.35 ringer percentage. Neil Teaford finished second, Pat Park finished third, Roger Moden finished fourth, Ernie Hockinberry finished fifth, Jerry Campbell finished sixth, Jeremy Bolin finished seventh, and Larry Fourman finished eighth.

Virgil Rife won the elder’s Class A championship with a 6-1 record and a 76.87 ringer percentage. Marcus Rice finished second, Roy Dugger finished third, Hershel Walters finished fourth, John Forehand finished fifth, Ralph Adrian finished sixth, Ron Womack finished seventh, and Tom Reynolds finished eighth.

Francis Salyers won the elder’s Class B championship with a 7-0 record and a 70.00 ringer percentage. Dave Emrick finished second, John Brown finished third, Leonard Conner finished fourth, Jim Luthy finished fifth, Paul Burkitt finished sixth, Dick Guill finished seventh, and Loran Coy finished eighth.

Ocie Holloway won the elder’s Class C championship with a 6-1 record and a 51.36 ringer percentage. Amos Lowe finished second, Elmo Harrison finished third, Wayne Waggoner finished fourth, Harlen Byron finished fifth, Tom Kirk finished sixth, George A Patterson finished seventh, and Ray Beyke finished eighth.

Dan Sanders won the elder’s Class D championship with a 6-0 record and a 38.20 ringer percentage. James E Hill finished second, Wilfred Kahrig finished third, Carl Slevin finished fourth, Bob Molnar finished fifth, Jack Baldwin finished sixth, and Jim Mossholder finished seventh.

Richard Edwards won the elder’s Class E championship with a 6-1 record and a 30.29 ringer percentage. Don Honeyman finished second, Harry Shaw finished third, Dennie L. Moles finished fourth, Boyd Stonerock finished fifth, Paul Rohrs finished sixth, Harry Menegay finished seventh, and Bill Sproessig finished eighth.

Roger Kinnamon won the elder’s Class F championship with a 3-0 record and a 19.33 ringer percentage. Roger Yocom finished second, Dave Ackley finished third, and Buck Cooper finished fourth.

Austin Hill won the juniors championship with a 3-0 record and a 37.16 ringer percentage. Alex Francis finished second.

Ruth Rife won the women’s Class A championship with a 6-1 record and a 68.31 ringer percentage. Sharon Chiddister finished second, Julia K Charlton finished third, Amy Francis finished fourth, Marlene Cooper finished fifth, Sandy Dehart finished sixth, Peggy Stitt finished seventh, and Sherrill Hambel finished eighth.

Stacy Robinson won the women’s Class B championship with a 5-0 record and a 48.81 ringer percentage. Mary Sproessig finished second, Cindy Rose finished third, Amy Miller finished fourth, and Shawnda Dehart finished fifth.

No posts to display