Seven indicted in multicounty theft ring


GREENVILLE — A press conference was held at the Darke County Emergency Management Agency Friday afternoon to announce the indictment of of seven men in a multicounty theft ring that stretched from Darke County to the Columbus area.

On Dec. 8, the Clark County Grand Jury issued a 74-count indictment against members of a theft ring that has been operating in Clark, Darke, Delaware, Miami, Montgomery, Pickaway, Preble and Shelby Counties.

Listed in the indictment were Billy Barrett, Markus Barrett, Jerry Bush, Jesse Reider, Ricky Large, Ricky Terry and Kenneth Melton.

The crimes listed in the indictment include engaging in a pattern of corrupt activity, burglary, breaking and entering, safe cracking, vandalism, theft, and receiving stolen property.

This indictment was the culmination of a year-long investigation by a task force comprising officers and agents from or assistance from the following law enforcement agencies:

Darke County Sheriff’s Office, New Lebanon Police Department, Brookville Police Department, Clay Township Police Department, Five River Metro Parks, Eaton Police Department, Shelby County Sheriff’s Office, Clark County Sheriff’s Office, Springfield Police Division, Preble County Sheriff’s Office, Delaware County Sheriff’s Office, Madison County Sheriff’s Office, Miami County Sheriff’s Office, Franklin County Sheriff’s Office, Jackson Township Police Department, Pickaway County Sheriff’s Office, Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office, Clinton County Sheriff’s Office, Perry Township Police Department, Columbus Police Department, Trotwood Police Department, National Insurance Crime Bureau, Ohio Bureau of Criminal Investigation and the U.S. Marshals Service.

No posts to display