Versailles’ Mechelle Heitkamp named MAC softball coach of the year


VERSAILLES – Versailles’ Mechelle Heitkamp was named the Midwest Athletic Conference co-softball coach of the year for the 2016 season.

Coach Heitkamp shared the honor with New Bremen’s Craig Griesdorn. Versailles and New Bremen were co-MAC champions along with Parkway as they all finished the season with 6-1 league records.

Versailles also had four softball players – junior pitcher Lauren Heitkamp, senior shortstop Kristin Langston, sophomore third baseman Kami McEldowney and sophomore outfielder Hailey McEldowney – named first team all-MAC for the 2016 season.

Junior first baseman Sarah Gigandet was named second team all-conference.

Versailles’ Cori Lawrence and Kate Stammen both were named honorable mention all-MAC.

Parkway’s Haley Hawk was named the MAC softball player of the year.

All-MAC softball

First team

Name School Grade Position

Oliva Harlamert Coldwater 10 Outfield

Maura Hoying Coldwater 10 Shortstop

Sarah Fesenmyer Marion Local 11 Shortstop

Taylor Homan Minster 9 Shortstop

Alyse Clune New Bremen 12 Shortstop

Sophie Fox New Bremen 11 Pitcher

Debbie Paul New Bremen 12 Catcher

Cassidy Smith New Bremen 11 Third Base

Bailey Bates Parkway 10 Second Base

Selena Burtch Parkway 12 Pitcher

Haley Hawk Parkway 10 Third Base

Mackenzie Sipe Parkway 10 Outfield

Alyx Slusher Parkway 11 Shortstop

Jacey King St. Henry 12 First Base

Lauren Heitkamp Versailles 11 Pitcher

Kristin Langston Versailles 12 Shortstop

Kami McEldowney Versailles 10 Third Base

Hailey McEldowney Versailles 10 Outfield

MAC softball player of the year: Haley Hawk, Parkway

MAC softball coaches of the year: Craig Griesdorn, New Bremen; Mechelle Heitkamp, Versailles

Second team

Name School Grade Position

Lexi Meyer Coldwater 12 Second Base

Chelsea Timmerman Fort Recovery 12 Pitcher/Outfield

Marah Moeller Marion Local 10 Designated Player

Jenna Poeppelman Minster 9 Pitcher/Designated Player

Chloe Schwartz New Bremen 11 Outfield

Cara Brockman St. Henry 12 Shortstop/ Catcher

Sarah Gigandet Versailles 11 First Base

Honorable mention:

Coldwater: Danielle Welsch; Fort Recovery: Audra Metzger, Devin Post; Marion Local: Lauren Sanders; Minster: Lindsey Albers, Danielle Barhorst, Jessica Berelsman, Karly Richard, Emma Schmiesing; New Bremen: Kaitlyn Ahrns; Parkway: Alisa Gray; St. Henry: Heather Hietkamp; Versailles: Cori Lawrence, Kate Stammen

L. Heitkamp Heitkamp


H. McEldowney McEldowney

K. McEldowney McEldowney

By Kyle Shaner

[email protected]

Kyle Shaner may be reached at 937-569-4316. Follow me on Twitter @KShanerAdvocate or get updates on Facebook by searching Darke County Sports or Advocate 360. For more features online go to

No posts to display