Four seats are expiring on Great Darke County Fair Board


DARKE COUNTY — The terms of Directors David Niley, Dean Neff, Jerry Marker and Doug Martin are expiring this year on the Darke County Agricultural Society.

The election of new fair board members will take place from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Aug. 25, the Thursday of the Great Darke County Fair.

Candidates interested running for any of these seats must get petitions from the Secretary Daryl Riffle and have 10 holders of membership tickets of the Darke County Agricultural Society sign them.

According to the Oct. 1, 2014, board meeting minutes, effective immediately, all future fair board candidates are required to attend two fair board meetings prior to picking up a fair board petition.

The petitions must be turned in to the Riffle at his office by filing deadline of 9 a.m. Aug. 18.

Filing fee is $10 per candidate.

Niley has served on the board since 2001; Neff, since 2004; Marker, since 2007; and Martin since 2013. Neff is vice president and Marker is treasurer of the fair board.

Others currently serving on the board are: President Brian Rismiller; and directors Matt Aultman, Russ Bennett, Richard Delk, Ed Erisman, Cindy Riffle and Jim Zumbrink.

The 160th annual Great Darke County Fair opens Aug. 19 and ends on Aug. 27.

By Linda Moody

[email protected]

This writer may be reached at 937-569-4315. Follow her on Facebook and join the conversation and get updates on Facebook by searching Darke County Sports or Advocate 360. For more features online go to

No posts to display