Largest fireworks show in Eldora history set for Saturday night


ROSSBURG – The largest fireworks show in Eldora Speedway history will be just one part of Saturday night’s Family Fireworks Night at historic Eldora Speedway.

The racing will feature the DIRTcar UMP Modifieds and a double feature for the Eldora Stocks.

In addition to the exciting racing, there are bounce houses, balloon twisting clowns and an autograph session with the drivers. And after the race, there is a fireworks extravaganza, the largest ever in Eldora Speedway history. Gates open at 5 p.m., with hot laps at 6:30 p.m. and the racing starting at 7:30 p.m.

Kids 12 and younger are admitted free while for those over the age of 13 tickets are $8. Also, uniformed firefighters, police, boy scouts and girl scouts are also admitted at no cost.

Ticket information can be found at or by calling 937-338-3815.

The Eldora Stock cars return for the first time since June 20 when Frank Paladino from Lima took the checkered flag. Rob Trent, also of Lima, won the season opener on April 18 and Barney Craig from Cridersville won on May 24.

All three will try to score another two wins this Saturday, but it will be a challenge.

There are two feature races Saturday with the lead lap results of the first race inverted for the start of the second. This means that the faster cars will be starting in the back of the pack, which should produce some hectic racing as they look to move toward the front of the field.

Trent leads the point standings with three top-five finishes, but Paladino is just two points back. Brandon Archey has yet to win at Eldora but is in third place, just 10 points back of Trent.

The DIRTcar UMP Modifieds have had Kyle Strickler and Taylor Cook both win races, but with both being out of North Carolina, they probably won’t return this weekend. Devin Gilpin from Columbus, Indiana, won on May 24.

Expect Eldora’s local stalwarts to be led by veterans like Jerry Bowersock of Piqua and Fort Recovery’s Ryan Sutter as they battle Pennsylvania points chasers Evan and Jonathan Taylor for the right to drive atop Victory Stage.

Evan Taylor, leads the point standings with Bowersock and Travis Stemler each just seven points back.


No posts to display