Small business owners eligible for disaster relief


WASHINGTON, D.C. – Following the designation of eight western Ohio counties as natural disaster areas, U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) announced Monday that small businesses in Butler, Darke, Defiance, Hamilton, Mercer, Paulding, Preble, and Van Wert Counties will now have access to federal resources to help offset financial losses resulting from excessive rain and flooding that began on May 1.

Small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small aquaculture businesses, and private non-profit organizations in these counties can apply for assistance from the U.S. Small Business Administration’s (SBA) Economic Injury Disaster Loan program.

“Small business owners in western Ohio can now access resources needed to recover from this year’s excessive rain and flooding—which may have impacted their businesses through no fault of their own,” Brown said. “These loans will help businesses rebuild and get back on their feet.”

Eligible business can borrow up to $2 million to pay fixed debts, payroll, and other bills that would have been paid had there not been excessive rain and flooding. The deadline to apply for these funds is April 12, 2016.

Eligible Ohioans may apply online via SBA’s secure website at Loan application forms can also be obtained by emailing the SBA at [email protected], calling the SBA’s Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 (1-800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing), or downloading the forms at [] Applicants should mail completed forms to: U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155.

Staff report

No posts to display