5 Darke County volleyball players named 1st team all-CCC


DARKE COUNTY – Five Darke County volleyball players earned first team all-Cross County Conference honors from the league for the 2015 season.

Ansonia’s Lydia Sink, Arcanum’s Brittany Kinney, Arcanum’s Shai Robinson, Franklin Monroe’s Carrie Baker and Franklin Monroe’s Morgan Booher all earned first team all-CCC honors.

Ansonia’s Bailey Stammen, Arcanum’s Rebecca Deao, Arcanum’s Emily Miller, Franklin Monroe’s Mackenzie Kreitzer, Mississinawa Valley’s Kelsie Hunt and Tri-Village’s Allie Downing all earned second team all-conference honors.

Ansonia’s Brooke Neal, Arcanum’s Stevie Johnting, Bradford’s Makenzie Weldy, Franklin Monroe’s Sydney Bowser, Mississinawa Valley’s Sydney Bowser and Tri-Village’s Kara Hollinger all were named to the CCC’s special mention team.

Miami East’s Jonni Parker was named the CCC volleyball player of the year, and Miami East’s Brian Bensman was named the CCC volleyball coach of the year.

Miami East won the CCC championship with a perfect 12-0 league record. Franklin Monroe finished as the runner up with an 11-1 record, Arcanum finished third at 10-2, Newton finished fourth at 9-3, Covington finished fifth at 8-4, and Twin Valley South finished sixth at 7-5.

Ansonia finished seventh in the league standings with a 6-6 record, and Mississinawa Valley finished eighth at 4-8.Bethel, National Trail and Tri-Village tied for ninth at 3-9 while Bradford finished 12th at 2-10 and Tri-County North finished 13th at 0-12.

All-CCC volleyball

First team

Lydia Sink, Ansonia

Brittany Kinney, Arcanum

Shai Robinson, Arcanum

Rachel York, Covington

Carrie Baker, Franklin Monroe

Morgan Booher, Franklin Monroe

Lindsey Black, Miami East

Kyndall Hellyer, Miami East

Jonni Parker, Miami East

Lexi Acton, National Trail

Maddie Mollette, Newton

Abby Beneke, Twin Valley South

Player of the year: Jonni Parker, Miami East

Coach of the year: Brian Bensman, Miami East

Second team

Bailey Stammen, Ansonia

Rebecca Deao, Arcanum

Emily Miller, Arcanum

Tia Koewler, Bethel

Brooke Gostomsky, Covington

Arianna Richards, Covington

Mackenzie Kreitzer, Franklin Monroe

Carly Gump, Miami East

Kelsie Hunt, Mississinawa Valley

Jessie Weeks, Newton

Allie Downing, Tri-Village

Madison Wright, Twin Valley South

Special mention team

Brooke Neal, Ansonia

Stevie Johnting, Arcanum

Alaina Hawthorn, Bethel

Makenzie Weldy, Bradford

Ashley Cecil, Covington

Sydney Bowser, Franklin Monroe

Jillian Wesco, Miami East

Mikayla Stump, Mississinawa Valley

Kortney Rea, National Trail

Kaitlyn Filbrun, Newton

Allee Demorest, Tri-County North

Kara Hollinger, Tri-Village

Mylan Crews, Twin Valley South






By Kyle Shaner

[email protected]

Kyle Shaner may be reached at 937-569-4316. Follow me on Twitter @KShanerAdvocate or get updates on Facebook by searching Darke County Sports or Advocate 360. For more features online go to dailyadvocate.com.

No posts to display