Senate Republicans elect new leadership team members


COLUMBUS – Senate President Keith Faber (R-Celina) announced the election of Senators Larry Obhof (R-Medina) and Gayle Manning (R-North Ridgeville) to serve as Senate President Pro Tempore and Majority Whip, respectively.

Following the retirement of State Senator Chris Widener last month, the Senate Republican Caucus voted earlier today to fill the void in the number two leadership position, as well as the resulting opening created by Obhof leaving the Majority Whip position. The full Senate then voted Obhof and Manning into their new positions in Tuesday’s session.

“Senator Obhof has been a trusted and influential member of our Senate leadership team, and I look forward to continuing our work together to make Ohio the best place to live, work and raise a family,” said Faber. “I’m also pleased to welcome Senator Manning to our leadership team as her unique insight as a former educator and experience having guided two transportation budgets through the Senate will prove invaluable.”

First appointed to the Ohio Senate in 2011, Obhof was selected by his colleagues to serve as Majority Whip for both the 130th and 131st General Assembly.

“I am grateful for the opportunity to serve the people of the 22nd District,” said Obhof. “The state has made great strides over the past four years, and I look forward to building on that progress for the remainder of this General Assembly as I continue to serve the Senate and Ohio in this new capacity.”

Manning, first elected as State Senator for the 13th District in 2010, was re-elected to the Ohio Senate in 2014. She has served as Chairwoman of the Senate Transportation, Commerce and Labor Committee tasked with leading the passage of the state’s $7.6 billion transportation budget.

“I’m honored to have been selected by my colleagues to serve as a member of the Senate leadership team alongside President Faber and Senators Obhof and Patton,” said Manning. “I look forward to this unique privilege to represent the best interests of the people of Huron and Lorain counties as well as all communities across the state.”

Both members were sworn in at Tuesday’s Senate session.

Staff report

No posts to display