Eight female educators vying for Teacher of the Year


DARKE COUNTY — Eight elementary teachers are candidates for Teacher of the Year in Darke County, a program co-sponsored by the Retired Teachers’ Association and the Darke County Educational Service Center.

The group was interviewed Friday before and after a buffet lunch which was served at the Darke County Educational Service Center (ESC).

ESC Superintendent Michael E. Gray welcomed the group, comprised of the candidates and their sponsors.

Candidates and their sponsors are: Melinda Thompson, Ansonia kindergarten teacher, sponsored by Fred Matix; Sharon Barga, kindergarten educator at Arcanum-Butler, sponsored by Marilyn Graeff; Cindy Angle, who teaches fifth grade at Bradford and sponsored by Ruth Macklin; Diane Gray, fourth-grade educator at Franklin Monroe, sponsored by Cheryl Gray; Amanda Rieman, who teaches second grade in Greenville, sponsored by Marty Davis; Jodi Humphries, a Mississinawa Valley intervention specialist, sponsored by Rebecca Burnett; Martha Skidmore, sixth-grade teacher at Tri-Village and sponsored by Jean Kelly; and Karen Albers, second-grade teacher at Versailles, sponsored by Ginny Nieport.

Judges this year are Dr. Dave Dolph, Tricia Seubert, Maria Kinninger and Bob Batty.

The Teacher of the Year will be announced at the Darke County Retired Teachers’ Association’s banquet at 6:30 p.m. May 17 at the First Presbyterian Church in Greenville


By Linda Moody

[email protected]

This writer may be reached at 937-569-4315. Follow her on Facebook and join the conversation and get updates on Facebook by searching Darke County Sports or Advocate 360. For more features online go to dailyadvocate.com.

No posts to display