Ansonia features 9 students at the top of their class


ANSONIA — Sixty-one students were spotlighted when they were awarded their diplomas in Ansonia High School’s 129th annual commencement service Sunday afternoon.

Highlights of the ceremony were the five valedictorians’ and four salutatorians’ addresses and the presentation of numerous scholarships and awards.

Co-valedictorians are Madison Evers, Caitlin Moody, Bryant Fox, Megan Bergman and Jensen Obringer, and salutatorians are Haley Wampler, Taylor Thwaits, Megan Jones and John Fischer.

The class president’s address was given by Brooke Neal, and a slide presentation was shown.

The class motto is: “What lies behind us and what lies before us are small matters compared to what lies within us,” and their class song is “Hooked On A Feeling” by Blue Swede.

Receiving their diplomas were: Damon Mykel Ahrens, Austin Gene Alexander, Alex Warren Beam, Daniel James Berger, Megan Elizabeth Bergman, Randy Lee Blakeley, Tawni Kay Brewer, Nicholas Jay Buckingham, Cody Lee Burnfield, Robert Charles Evan Burns, Jordan Alyce Campbell, Kiana Raye Coley, Ashley Leann Dakin, Cody Michael Davis, Dakota Lee Emrick, Madison Anne Evers, John Arthur Fischer, Byrant Thomas Fox, Andrew William Gates, Christopher Joseph Gilroy, Brett Michael Grayson, Tyler Matthew Greer, Shelby Raylynn Hartzell, Abigail Raeann Helmke, Alyssa Lauren Henderson, Megan Nicole Jones, Jenna Lauren Kramer, Conner Edward Lewis, Austin Christian Dean Long, Joy Irene Marsh, Nicholas William Mayo, Aleesha Christy Mestemaker, Logan Gene Miller, Caitlin Marie Moody, Brooke Renee Muhlenkamp, Alexis Rachelle Mustaine, Brooke Reann Neal, Jensen Faith Obringer, Katelynn Myranda Overholser, Seth Allan Phillippi, Loretta Elsie Lynn Price, Trenton Craig Martin-Rader, Dawson James Lee Richards, Dyllan Matthew Saintignon, Jeremiah Joseph Staver, Sydney Lynn Staver, Monica Marion Mackinsey Stover, Brooke Aleisha Teague, Cody Tyler Teegarden, Jerica Marie Thwaits, Taylor Berneice Thwaits, Molly Elizabeth Walters, Haley Nicole Wampler, Dane Wyatt Wentworth, Paul Michael Werts, Ryan Nicholas Willoughby, Meghan Paige Wilson, Samantha Anne Wolf, Elizabeth Denise Yoder and Madison Eileen Young.

Class officers were: Neal, Vice president Megan Bergman, Secretary Alyssa Henderson, and Treasurer Trenton Martin-Rader. Kim Pearson was their class adviser.

Participating in the ceremony were Superintendent Jim Atchley, High School Principal Stephen A. Garmen; the board of education (President Clarence Kammer, Vice President Theresa Siefring, Ron Barga II, Joe Schmitmeyer and Rhonda Williams); and the high school band.
School graduates 61 students

By Linda Moody

[email protected]

This writer may be reached at 937-569-4315. Follow her on Facebook and join the conversation and get updates on Facebook by searching Darke County Sports or Advocate 360. For more features online go to

No posts to display