3 division Sprintacular season finale set for Saturday at Eldora Speedway


ROSSBURG – Eldora Speedway’s 63rd season of racing comes to a close Saturday with a three-division showcase of methanol-injected fury featuring the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions winged sprint cars, National Racing Alliance Sprint Invaders winged sprint cars and the Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series (BOSS) non-wing sprint cars.

The evening activities will use Eldora’s autumn schedule with hot laps at 4:30 p.m. and racing starting at 6 p.m. Tickets can be purchased at www.eldoraspeedway.com or by calling 937-338-3815. Children 12 and younger are admitted free to Eldora’s general admission seating areas.

The Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions (ASCoC) winged sprint cars powered by 410 cubic inch engines will make their fourth appearance of the season on Saturday. Chad Kemenah of Alvada is the defending race winner and is the current Arctic Cat All Star point leader and after a second place finish to Australian Ian Madsen in the ASCoC’s last Eldora appearance at the Four Crown Nationals followed by Indiana drivers Randy Hannagan, Kraig Kinser and Brady Bacon. Madsen was the third different ASCoC winner at Eldora this season, joining Jac Haudenschild (Ohio Sprint Speedweek) and Donny Schatz (Kings Royal; show-up points event) in the record books.

Expected to challenge the touring stars of the ASCoC for the $5,000 winner’s purse are former Kings Royal winners Sammy Swindell and Jac Haudenschild. Fan-favorite Rico Abreu, winner of the USAC National Midget Series event at the Four Crown Nationals, has a weekend off from the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and will be back to avenge a late race spin from the lead in the Sept. 24 ASCoC event.

Kemenah reclaimed the top spot in the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions title chase with a podium finish at the Four Crown Nationals and will lead the charge back to Rossburg. The former series champion, earning four consecutive titles from 2002 through 2005, enters the #LastCallForMethanol with a 20-point advantage in the title chase over Dale Blaney.

Blaney, a seven-time main event winner thus far in 2016, finds himself second in the championship chase entering the Sprintacular and is still mathematically eligible for the championship with two point events remaining. The Hartford native holds a 50-point cushion over series win leader Sheldon Haudenschild (eight wins) for second followed by Cap Henry and Kraig Kinser, who round out the top five, respectively.

The NRA Sprint Invaders, once again featured a tight points battle between Jared Horstman and Max Stambaugh with Horstman winning the championship by 32 points. The $2,000-to-win race is expected to attract winged 360 cubic inch teams from across the Midwest and Canada. Michigan’s Ryan Ruhl won the event in 2015.

In the non-winged BOSS Sprint Cars, Shawn Westerfeld of Guilford, Indiana, clinched the title last Saturday becoming the first driver in series history to repeat as champion. With three wins on the season, a fourth victory for Westerfield would set a new series season win record. A hearty field of the 410 cubic inch traditional sprint cars has historically appeared for the $1,500-to-win event. Past event winners include two Californian’s Robert Ballou (2015) and Thomas Messeraul (2014) and Oklahoma driver Brady Bacon.

Tickets for the #LastCallForMethanol – The Sprintacular are $20 for adults while children 12 and younger are admitted free to general admission seating for all events. Fans can order online at www.EldoraSpeedway.com or by calling the speedway box office at 937-338-3815.


No posts to display