3 Versailles baseball players named 1st team all-MAC


VERSAILLES – Versailles’ Keaton McEldowney, Kurtis Rutschilling and Kyle Subler all were named first team all-Midwest Athletic Conference by the league for the 2017 baseball season.

The Tigers’ Elliot Bruns, Austin Knapke and Cole Niekamp each made the MAC’s honorable mention team.

Fort Recovery’s Nick Thwaits was named the MAC baseball player of the year, and Coldwater’s Brian Harlamert was named the MAC baseball coach of the year.

Coldwater won the MAC championship with a 7-2 conference record while Versailles, Minster and Delphos St. John’s tied for second at 6-3. Fort Recovery and St. Henry tied for fifth place with 5-4 records, Parkway was seventh with a 4-5 record, New Bremen finished eighth at 3-6, Marion Local finished ninth at 3-6, and New Knoxville finished 10th with a 0-9 record.

All-MAC baseball

First team

Name School Grade Position

Dylan Thobe Coldwater 12 Infield

Nick Thwaits Fort Recovery 11 Pitcher

Cade Wendel Fort Recovery 11 Infield

Duane Leugers Marion Local 12 Second Base/Shortstop

Aaron Ernst Minster 12 Pitcher

Jon Niemeyer Minster 12 Right Field

Bryce Schmiesing Minster 12 Center Field

Luke Vonderhaar New Bremen 11 Third Base

Nick Topp New Knoxville 12 Catcher

Trace Walls Parkway 12 Pitcher

Jaret Jackson Delphos St. John’s 12 Catcher

Eric Vogt Delphos St. John’s 12 Shortstop

Jacob Youngpeter Delphos St. John’s 12 Pitcher

Keaton McEldowney Versailles 11 Outfield

Kurtis Rutschilling Versailles 11 Second Base

Kyle Subler Versailles 12 Catcher

MAC player of the year: Nick Thwaits, Fort Recovery

MAC coach of the year: Brian Harlamert, Coldwater

Second team

Name School Grade Position

Dylan Thobe Coldwater 12 Pitcher

Will Homan Fort Recovery 11 Outfield

Duane Leugers Marion Local 12 Pitcher

Cole Unrast Marion Local 12 First Base

Alex Lehmkuhl Minster 11 Second Base

Ben Stubbs Minster 12 Catcher

Alec Schoenleben Parkway 12 Outfield

Ryan Luttmer St. Henry 11 Outfield

Honorable mention:

Coldwater: Sam Broering, Nathan Grunden, Jacob Wenning; Ft. Recovery: Ben Homan; Marion Local: Matt Kahlig; Minster: Isaac Schmiesing; New Bremen: Ryan Bertke, Grant Selby, Justin Tenkman; New Knoxville: Corey Kuck, Nathan Tinnerman; Parkway: Carson Ford; St. Henry: Parker Link, Rylee Deitsch, Curtis Uhlenhake; Delphos St. John’s: Devin Cairo, Josh Warnecke; Versailles: Elliot Bruns, Austin Knapke, Cole Niekamp




By Kyle Shaner

[email protected]

Kyle Shaner may be reached at 937-569-4316. Follow me on Twitter @KShanerAdvocate or get updates on Facebook by searching Darke County Sports or Advocate 360. For more features online go to dailyadvocate.com.

No posts to display