32 IU East athletes make academic all-conference lists


RICHMOND, Ind. – Thirty-two Indiana University East student-athletes earned spots on the winter and spring River States Conference scholar-athlete teams.

Among the honorees were Arcanum graduate Adam Klipstine and Tri-Village graduate Alisha Hollinger, both of whom are track and field athletes at IU East.

To earn a spot on the team, student-athletes must have a grade-point average of 3.25 or higher after three semesters of attendance at the conference institution, compete in a River States Conference championship sport and be nominated by their athletic department.

IU East honorees are:

Men’s Basketball: Nate Niehoff (SO/Glenwood, Ind.), Brad Hunt (JR/North Vernon, Ind.) and Lucas Huffman (JR/Indianapolis, Ind.)

Women’s Basketball: Libby Springmier (SO/Eaton, Ohio), Mackenzie Campbell (SO/Rushville, Ind.), Tia King (JR/Indianapolis, Ind.), Kristen Miller (JR/Ottawa, Ohio), Bailey Dreiman (JR/Vincennes, Ind.) and Keragan Niehoff (JR/Rushville, Ind.)

Men’s Golf: Lance Hackman (SO/Salem, Ind.) and Mitchell Richardson (SO/Lapel, Ind.)

Women’s Golf: Bre Nowak and Mackenzie Spurrier (SO/Richmond, Ind.)

Men’s Tennis: Keaton Akers (SO/Terre Haute, Ind.), Alex Shelley (SO/Avon, Ind.), Seth Gard (JR/Richmond, Ind.) and Colton Shipley (JR/Gas City, Ind.)

Women’s Tennis: Rebecca Lockhart (SO/Oxford, Ohio), Sarah Lockhart (SO/Oxford, Ohio) and Brittany Hethcox (SR/New Castle, Ind.)

Men’s Track and Field: Blake Brooks (SO/Muncie, Ind.), Seth Reynolds (SO/Eaton, Ohio), Adam Klipstine (JR/Ansonia, Ohio), Tyler Hoodlebrink (SR/Hagerstown, Ind.) and Clint Swanson (SR/Vevay, Ind.)

Women’s Track and Field: Alisha Hollinger (SO/New Madison, Ohio), Sarah Hornak (SO/Richmond, Ind.), Autumn Kann (SO/Etna Green, Ind.), Kaylee Simpson (SO/New Paris, Ohio), Trisha Spivey (SO/Liberty, Ind.), Mackenzie Boles (JR/Lapel, Ind.), Kristen Miller and Morgan Stanley (SR/Winchester, Ind.)

Hethcox, Stanley and Swanson earned the all-conference scholar-athlete award for the fourth year in a row.

Junior student-athletes Hunt, Huffman, Keragan Niehoff, King, Miller, Dreiman, Klipstine, Boles and Gard made the all-conference scholar-athlete team for the third time.

Nate Niehoff, Springmier, Campbell, Hackman, Nowak, Spurrier, Akers, Shelley, Shipley, Sarah Lockhart, Rebecca Lockhart, Brooks, Hoodlebrink, Reynolds, Hollinger, Kann, Simpson and Spivey are now two-time all-conference scholar-athletes.

IU East’s student-athletes compiled a 3.19 GPA for the 2016-17 school year.



No posts to display