Greenville football player Braden Russell earns 1st team honors from GWOC


GREENVILLE – Greenville senior offensive lineman Braden Russell was named first team all-American North Division by the Greater Western Ohio Conference for the 2017 football season.

Green Wave senior defensive lineman Landin Brown and junior linebacker Micah Light both were named to the North Division’s second team.

Sophomore defensive back Tyler Beyke, sophomore linebacker John Butsch, sophomore defensive back Alec Fletcher and junior offensive lineman Nathan Fry each were named to the American North’s special mention team.

Sidney’s Isaiah Bowser was named the American North offensive player of the year, and Troy’s John Wehrkamp was named the defensive player of the year for the division. Troy’s Matt Burgbacher was named the GWOC North football coach of the year.

Troy won the GWOC North championship with a 5-0 division record, Sidney finished second at 4-1, Piqua finished third at 3-2, Vandalia-Butler finished fourth at 2-3, Tippecanoe finished fifth at 1-4,and Greenville finished sixth at 0-5.

For complete all-GWOC football awards, finish the conference’s website at

American North team

Name School Position Grade Team

Cole Barhorst Tippecanoe RB Senior First Team

Kameron Block Troy OL Senior First Team

Isaiah Bowser Sidney RB Senior First Team

Zach Boyer Troy DB Senior First Team

Jaydon Culp-Bishop Troy RB Junior First Team

Austin Davis Piqua QB Senior First Team

Charles Ellington Butler DL Senior First Team

Justin Everette Tippecanoe DB Senior First Team

Matt Garber Tippecanoe LB Senior First Team

Quentin Glover Butler DL Junior First Team

Andre Gordon Sidney QB Junior First Team

Caleb Harris Sidney DB Junior First Team

Derek Hite Piqua DL Senior First Team

Sam Jackson Troy DB Junior First Team

Bryant Johnson Butler WR Junior First Team

Spencer Klopfenstein Troy WR Junior First Team

Derek McDonagh Troy DB Senior First Team

Matt McGillivary Troy Off Senior First Team

Colten Meyer Piqua OL Senior First Team

Jack Mitchell Butler DB Senior First Team

Christian Nation Troy DL Senior First Team

Devan Rogers Sidney DL Senior First Team

Demont Rucker Sidney OL Senior First Team

Braden Russell Greenville OL Senior First Team

Ben Schmiesing Piqua LB Senior First Team

Joah Schricker Troy DL Senior First Team

Hayden Schrubb Piqua WR Senior First Team

Caiden Serrer Butler OL Senior First Team

Shane Shoop Troy LB Junior First Team

Caiden Smith Tippecanoe K Senior First Team

Darren Taborn Sidney RET Sophomore First Team

John Wehrkamp Troy LB Senior First Team

Jack Akers Butler LB Junior Second Team

Zayne Arbogast Piqua DL Junior Second Team

Landin Brown Greenville DL Senior Second Team

AJ Brussell Sidney OL Senior Second Team

Josh Burritt Tippecanoe RB Junior Second Team

Blake Burton Troy LB Junior Second Team

Caden Clark Piqua OL Junior Second Team

Sam Coleman Troy QB Senior Second Team

James Congdon Piqua LB Senior Second Team

Logan Flatt Butler RB Senior Second Team

Micah Light Greenville LB Junior Second Team

Jansen Love Butler LB Senior Second Team

Cale Meckstroth Piqua WR Senior Second Team

Russell Ramsey Tippecanoe DB Senior Second Team

Ratez Roberts Sidney WR Junior Second Team

Drew Smith Troy OL Senior Second Team

Hallie Truesdale Sidney K Sophomore Second Team

Josh Walland Tippecanoe DL Junior Second Team

Tyler Beyke Greenville DB Sophomore Special Mention

John Butsch Greenville LB Sophomore Special Mention

Ryan Cagle Sidney LB Sophomore Special Mention

Alec Fletcher Greenville DB Sophomore Special Mention

Nathan Fry Greenville OL Junior Special Mention

Grant Heatherly Tippecanoe OL Junior Special Mention

Josiah Hudgins Sidney DB Junior Special Mention

Micah Karn Piqua LB Junior Special Mention

Mason Motter Butler QB Junior Special Mention

Sutton Skapik Butler K Senior Special Mention

Dylan Smith Sidney OL Senior Special Mention

Tony Straman Sidney DL Senior Special Mention

Brennan Toopes Piqua DL Junior Special Mention

American North offensive player of the year: Isaiah Bowser, Sidney

American North defensive player of the year: John Wehrkamp, Troy

American North coach of the year: Matt Burgbacher, Troy


By Kyle Shaner

[email protected]

Kyle Shaner may be reached at 937-569-4316. Follow me on Twitter @KShanerAdvocate or get updates on Facebook by searching Darke County Sports or Advocate 360. For more features online go to

No posts to display