Senators urge FEMA sign-up


WASHINGTON, D.C. – This week, U.S. Senators Sherrod Brown (D-OH) and Rob Portman (R-OH) encouraged Ohioans to apply for federal disaster assistance they helped secure through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The deadline for Ohioans to apply for federal assistance is Monday, Aug. 19. Ohioans can apply online at or by calling 1-800-621-3362 for more information.

In June, FEMA approved federal assistance for Auglaize, Darke, Greene, Hocking, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, Muskingum, Perry, and Pickaway Counties. The approval of federal disaster funding will help ensure that these counties can access important federal assistance and resources to recover.

“It’s important for all Ohioans who suffered damage from the storms to register – in addition to receiving FEMA aid for yourself, you’ll help the entire state. The more residents who receive funding, the more funds will be available to local communities to rebuild,” said the senators.

“I appreciate Senator Brown and Senator Portman using their platforms to remind people to sign up for FEMA benefits. We’re all in this recovery effort together, and it’s important that everyone impacted by the tornado take advantage of the opportunity to sign up for relief before the August 19 deadline,” said Dayton Mayor Nan Whaley.

Brown and Portman wrote to President Trump in June urging him to act swiftly on Governor Mike DeWine’s request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 10 Ohio counties impacted by tornadoes, severe storms, straight-line winds, and flooding.

Both senators are committed to continue working with FEMA and the state of Ohio to make sure the resources get to Ohio communities quickly and effectively.

No posts to display