UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions returns to Eldora on Saturday


ROSSBURG – Saturday night they will line up for the 136th time at historic Eldora Speedway in Rossburg.

The UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car Series has raced at Eldora since 1981, and the races have always been popular with fans in Ohio. They come to Eldora as part of Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket as the second of nine consecutive races within the Buckeye State. It’s a grueling schedule that brings together some of the best sprint car racers in the country.

It’s also the last chance for those outside of the World of Outlaws to tune their car before the historic Kings Royal Weekend on July 17-18 at Eldora.

Tickets for Saturday night’s event, presented by NKTelco, and featuring the UNOH All Star Sprint Cars, DIRTcar UMP Modifieds and Eldora Stocks can be purchased at or by calling 937-338-3815.

Gates open at 4 p.m. with hot laps beginning at 6 p.m. and racing at 7:30 p.m.

Legendary Kenny Jacobs from Holmesville has this Eldora race on his tentative schedule. He has won 21 All-Star races at the half-mile, the most of any driver, and is a four-time All-Star champion. He has raced only sparingly since 2004, but this year decided to race a limited schedule at age 59.

Jacobs will bring plenty of fans to Eldora but so will the other hot drivers in the All-Star Series.

Dale Blaney from Fowler is leading the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions point standings and has won 117 races in his career. At Eldora, he won the Historical Big One in 1998 and the Kings Royal in 2000.

Cody Darrah from Red Lion, Pennsylvania, is second in points and won in April at Port Royal (Pennsylvania) Speedway. He also has six World of Outlaws wins.

The All-Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car Series is one of the oldest traveling sprint car organizations and is a staple of grassroots, open-wheel racing.

Formed in 1970 by Bud Miller, the series has largely been considered the first outlaw Sprint Car organization of the modern era. After a 10 year stint as owner of the All Stars, Miller passed control of the series to Bert Emick in 1980, a reign that would continue through 2002. Guy Webb then purchased the series from Emick in the summer of 2002 and served as the series president for the next 12 years.

Motorsports entrepreneur (and Eldora Speedway owner) Tony Stewart agreed to terms with Guy Webb to become the sole owner of the original winged sprint car tour in January of 2015.

And the names of people that have won are quite impressive. Beyond Jacobs’ 21 wins, Joey Saldana has won 11 times while Jac Haudenschild has won nine events. His son Sheldon Haudenschild, who is fifth in points, will look for his first Eldora win this weekend.

Even a young Kasey Kahne won an All-Star race at Eldora in 2003 as did Rico Abreu in 2014.

Joining the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car Series will be the DIRTcar UMP Modifieds and Eldora Stocks.

No posts to display