UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions to close out Eldora Speedway season


ROSSBURG – The engines will fire up one more time before Eldora Speedway hibernates for the winter months.

On Saturday the final race of the 2015 schedule takes place at Eldora as the UNOH Sprintacular will feature the winged All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Cars, the winged NRA (National Racing Alliance) Sprint Invaders and the non-winged BOSS (Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series).

The evening activities will use Eldora’s autumn schedule with hot laps at 4:30 p.m. and racing starting at 6 p.m. Tickets can be purchased at or by calling 937-338-3815.

Dale Blaney has clinched the All Star championship on the strength of 12 wins this season. It’s his sixth title, the most in series history.

Blaney, from Fowler, has won the Historical Big One in 1998 and the Kings Royal in 2000.

Cody Darrah, from Red Lion, Pennsylvania, is second in points and has three All Star win this year while Sheldon Haudenschild is fifth in points but has scored five victories in 2015.

Greg Wilson, from Benton Ridge, is a two-time All Star champion and most recently won the World of Outlaws race in September at Eldora.

The All-Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car Series is one of the oldest traveling sprint car organizations and is a staple of grassroots, open-wheel racing.

Formed in 1970 by Bud Miller, the series has largely been considered the first “outlaw” Sprint Car organization of the modern era. After a 10 year stint as owner of the All Stars, Miller passed control of the series to Bert Emick in 1980, a reign that would continue through 2002. Guy Webb then purchased the series from Emick in the summer of 2002 and served as the series president for the next 12 years.

Motorsports entrepreneur (and Eldora Speedway owner) Tony Stewart agreed to terms with Guy Webb to become the sole owner of the original winged sprint car tour in January of 2015.

For the winged NRA (National Racing Alliance) Sprint Invaders, Jared Horstman and Max Stambaugh are tied in points with just the Eldora race remaining for the 360 cubic inch engine machines.

For the non-winged BOSS (Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series), Shawn Westerfeld of Guilford, Indiana, became the first driver in series history to clinch the title before the season-finale.

No posts to display