Arcanum softball team honors top CCC honors


DARKE COUNTY – Arcanum received the Cross County Conference’s top awards for the 2016 softball season with Loganne Stone being named the player of the year and Rick Stone being named the coach of the year.

Loganne Stone, Arcanum’s starting shortstop, hit .533 for the CCC champion Trojans and drove in 40 runs.

Along with Loganne Stone, Ansonia’s Brooke Neal, Arcanum’s Abbie Bruns, Bradford’s Olivia Hart and Franklin Monroe’s Emilee Morris all were named first team all-CCC.

Ansonia’s Molly Walters, Arcanum’s Brittany Kinney, Bradford’s Tori Smith, Franklin Monroe’s Carrie Baker, Mississinawa Valley’s Leslie Dirksen and Tri-Village’s Brittany Kinney were named second team all-conference.

Ansonia’s Shelby Hartzell, Arcanum’s Kaitlyn Zell, Bradford’s Amanda Brewer, Franklin Monroe’s Kennedy Morris, Mississinawa Valley’s Paxton Scholl and Tri-Village’s Payge Malott were named to the CCC’s special mention team.

Arcanum won the CCC championship with a perfect 12-0 conference record. Covington finished second with an 11-1 record, Newton was third at 9-3, Ansonia and Franklin Monroe both finished 8-4 to tie for fourth, National Trail and Tri-County North tied for sixth with 7-5 records, and Bradford finished eighth at 6-6. Bethel, Miami East and Tri-Village tied for ninth as they each finished 2-10 while Mississinawa Valley and Twin Valley South tied for 12th by both finishing 1-11.

All-CCC softball

First team

Brooke Neal, Ansonia

Abbie Bruns, Arcanum

Loganne Stone, Arcanum

Grace Anthony, Bethel

Olivia Hart, Bradford

Brooke Gostomsky, Covington

Arianna Richards, Covington

Kara Schaffer, Covington

Emilee Morris, Franklin Monroe

Madison Mollette, Newton

Kristen Rappold, Newton

Megan Hemp, Tri-County North

CCC softball player of the year: Loganne Stone, Arcanum

CCC softball coach of the year: Rick Stone, Arcanum

Second team

Molly Walters, Ansonia

Brittany Kinney, Arcanum

Tori Smith, Bradford

Ashley Cecil, Covington

Carrie Baker, Franklin Monroe

Megan Pettit, Miami East

Leslie Dirksen, Mississinawa Valley

Alexus Acton, National Trail

Kylee Aldridge, National Trail

Kacie Tackett, Newton

Riley Cruse, Tri-County North

Shelby Holzapfel, Tri-Village

Special mention

Shelby Hartzell, Ansonia

Kaitlyn Zell, Arcanum

Becky Schwieterman, Bethel

Amanda Brewer, Bradford

Allison Babylon, Covington

Kennedy Morris, Franklin Monroe

Kati Runner, Miami East

Paxton Scholl, Mississinawa Valley

Payten Laird, National Trail

Kylee Fisher, Newton

Taylor Green, Tri-County North

Payge Malott, Tri-Village

Kelsie Shafer, Twin Valley South



L. Stone Stone



Arcanum shortstop Loganne Stone was named the Cross County Conference softball player of the year for the 2016 season. shortstop Loganne Stone was named the Cross County Conference softball player of the year for the 2016 season. Kyle Shaner|The Daily Advocate

By Kyle Shaner

[email protected]

Kyle Shaner may be reached at 937-569-4316. Follow me on Twitter @KShanerAdvocate or get updates on Facebook by searching Darke County Sports or Advocate 360. For more features online go to

No posts to display