Arcanum baseball team sweeps the CCC’s top baseball honors


DARKE COUNTY – Arcanum swept the Cross County Conference’s top honors for the 2016 baseball season.

Arcanum senior Conner Pohl was named the CCC baseball player of the year and Arcanum’s Randy Baker was named the CCC baseball coach of the year after they led the Trojans to a 12-0 league record.

Pohl hit .447 with 19 RBIs for Arcanum. He also had a 1.31 ERA as a pitcher.

Along with Pohl, Arcanum’s Austin Baker, Franklin Monroe’s Zach Hyre and Tri-Village’s Jonny Wilson were named first team all-CCC.

Ansonia’s Dane Wentworth, Arcanum’s Cole Burrell, Arcanum’s Jordan Dubbs, Bradford’s Mason Justice, Franklin Monroe’s Cade McGlinch, Mississinawa Valley’s Tyler Jenkinson and Tri-Village’s Tanner Maples were all named second team all-conference.

Ansonia’s Logan Miller, Arcanum’s Nathan Kubik, Bradford’s Andrew Branson, Franklin Monroe’s Trevor Collins, Mississinawa Valley’s Devan Rinderle and Tri-Village’s Christian Ricker made the CCC’s special mention team.

Arcanum won the CCC championship with a perfect 12-0 record. Covington and Tri-County North tied for second place with 9-3 records, National Trail was fourth at 7-4-1, Franklin Monroe was fifth at 6-4-1, Tri-Village finished sixth with a 7-5 record, Newton and Twin Valley South tied for seventh with 6-6 records, Bethel was ninth at 5-7, Bradford finished 10th with a 3-8 record, Miami East and Mississinawa Valley tied for 11th at 3-9, and Ansonia finished 13th in the league with a 0-12 record.

All-CCC baseball

First team

Austin Baker, Arcanum

Conner Pohl, Arcanum

Tyler Brookhart, Bethel

Nathan Blei, Covington

James Grilliot, Covington

Zach Hyre, Franklin Monroe

Braxton Donaldson, Miami East

Michael Bane, National Trail

Rhett Gipe, Newton

Zach Edgin, Tri-County North

Jonny Wilson, Tri-Village

Jacob Bassler, Twin Valley South

CCC baseball player of the year: Conner Pohl, Arcanum

CCC baseball coach of the year: Randy Baker, Arcanum

Second team

Dane Wentworth, Ansonia

Cole Burrell, Arcanum

Jordan Dubbs, Arcanum

Mason Justice, Bradford

Jared Williams, Covington

Cade McGlinch, Franklin Monroe

Tyler Jenkinson, Mississinawa Valley

Billy Lanman, National Trail

Treg Jackson, Newton

Chandler Sproles, Tri-County North

Tanner Maples, Tri-Village

Ryan Bassler, Twin Valley South

Special mention team

Logan Miller, Ansonia

Nathan Kubik, Arcanum

Riley Shafer, Bethel

Andrew Branson, Bradford

Levi Winn, Covington

Trevor Collins, Franklin Monroe

Scot Kirby, Miami East

Devan Rinderle, Mississinawa Valley

Dominique Huffman, National Trail

Wade Ferrell, Newton

Tanner Booth, Tri-County North

Christian Ricker, Tri-Village

Cody Roell, Twin Valley South

A. Baker Baker




Arcanum senior Conner Pohl was named the Cross County Conference baseball player of the year for the 2016 season. senior Conner Pohl was named the Cross County Conference baseball player of the year for the 2016 season.

By Kyle Shaner

[email protected]

Kyle Shaner may be reached at 937-569-4316. Follow me on Twitter @KShanerAdvocate or get updates on Facebook by searching Darke County Sports or Advocate 360. For more features online go to

No posts to display