Versailles’ Ryan Schlater named MAC baseball coach of the year


VERSAILLES – Versailles’ Ryan Schlater was named the Midwest Athletic Conference’s co-coach of the year by the league for the 2016 baseball season.

Schlater shared the coach of the year honors with Coldwater’s Brian Harlamert. Both coaches led their teams to a share of the MAC championship with 8-1 records.

St. Henry’s Mitchel Stammen was named the MAC baseball player of the year.

Versailles senior pitcher Brett McEldowney, sophomore outfielder Keaton McEldowney, sophomore second baseman Kurtis Rutschilling and junior catcher Kyle Subler all were named first team all-MAC.

Senior first baseman Jared Niekamp was named second team all-conference.

Additionally, Versailles’ Austin Knapke and Cole Niekamp both garnered honorable mention all-MAC honors.

Coldwater and Versailles shared the MAC championship with 8-1 records. St. Henry finished third with a 7-2 record, Fort Recovery was fourth at 6-3, Minster and Parkway tied for fifth with 5-4 records, Marion Local was seventh with a 3-6 record, Delphos St. John’s finished eighth at 2-7, New Bremen was ninth with a 1-8 record, and New Knoxville finished 10th with a 0-9 record.

All-MAC baseball

First team

Name School Grade Position

Malave Bettinger Coldwater 12 First Base

Aaron Harlamert Coldwater 12 Catcher/Infield

Jack Hemmelgarn Coldwater 12 Pitcher

Kyle McKibben Coldwater 12 Shortstop

Jackson Hobbs Ft. Recovery 12 Pitcher

Jacob Homan Ft. Recovery 11 Infield

Cade Wendel Ft. Recovery 10 Infield

Matt Kahlig Marion Local 11 Outfield

Peter Falk Minster 12 Shortstop

Alex Lehmkuhl Minster 10 Second Base

Josh Nixon Minster 12 Pitcher

Owen Leugers New Bremen 12 First Base

Deion Hoehne New Bremen 12 Third Base/Outfield

Hunter McMurray New Knoxville 12 Shortstop

Jensen Riley Parkway 12 Infield

Alec Schoenleben Parkway 11 Outfield

Jason Evers St. Henry 12 Outfield

Evan Lefeld St. Henry 12 Third Base

Mitchel Stammen St. Henry 12 Pitcher

Brett McEldowney Versailles 12 Pitcher

Keaton McEldowney Versailles 10 Outfield

Kurtis Rutschilling Versailles 10 Second Base

Kyle Subler Versailles 11 Catcher

MAC baseball player of the year: Mitchel Stammen, St. Henry

MAC baseball co-coaches of the year: Brian Harlamert, Coldwater; Ryan Schlater, Versailles

First team

Name School Grade Position

Kraig Schoenherr Coldwater 12 Outfield

Dylan Thobe Coldwater 11 Infield

Nick Thwaits Ft. Recovery 10 Outfield

Ben Schwieterman New Bremen 12 Outfield

Josh Osterholt St. Henry 12 Outfield/Shortstop

Jacob Youngpeter Delphos St. John’s 11 Pitcher

Jared Niekamp Versailles 12 First Base

Honorable mention:

Coldwater: Petey Post; Ft. Recovery: Hunter Boughman, Ross Homan, Kyle Schroer; Marion Local: Cole Griesdorn, Ian Kramer, Duane Leugers; Minster: Aaron Ernst, Jon Niemeyer, Bryce Schmiesing; New Knoxville: Nick Topp; Parkway: Derrick Mosier; St. Henry: Parker Link, Matt Siefring; Delphos St. John’s: Buddy Jackson, Eric Vogt, Josh Warnecke; Versailles: Austin Knapke, Cole Niekamp

B. McEldowney McEldowney

K. McEldowney McEldowney



By Kyle Shaner

[email protected]

Kyle Shaner may be reached at 937-569-4316. Follow me on Twitter @KShanerAdvocate or get updates on Facebook by searching Darke County Sports or Advocate 360. For more features online go to

No posts to display