Greenville’s Jerrod Newland named GWOC North softball coach of the year


GREENVILLE – Greenville’s Jerrod Newland was named the North Division softball coach of the year by the Greater Western Ohio Conference for the 2017 softball season.

Newland led Greenville to a perfect 15-0 record in conference play this season. Following Greenville in the GWOC North standings, Tippecanoe finished second with a 12-3 record, Sidney and Troy tied for third at 10-5, Piqua finished fifth at 7-8, and Vandalia-Butler finished sixth with a 5-10 record.

Greenville junior Cassie Cromwell, freshman Morgan Gilbert, senior Alli Hill, freshman Baylee Petry, senior Karsyn Shaffer and sophomore Lani Shilt all were named first team all-American League by the GWOC.

Junior Sydney Grote and senior Makayla Hanes both were named second team all-American League.

Freshman Courtney Bryson made the American League’s special mention team.

Tippecanoe’s Kaitlyn Stocker was named the GWOC North softball player of the year.

GWOC softball

American League team

Name School Position Grade Team

Lyndsey Achs Butler Junior First team

Rayne Brownlee Piqua First team

Morgan Carey Sidney OF Junior First team

Cassie Cromwell Greenville IF Junior First team

Kendra Forness Piqua OF Senior First team

Morgan Gilbert Greenville IF Freshman First team

Katie Henry Butler OF Junior First team

Alli Hill Greenville C Senior First team

Summer Inman Sidney IF Senior First team

Madi Mills West Carrollton IF Senior First team

Korina Murphy Stebbins IF Sophomore First team

Savannah Nelson Troy OF Junior First team

Baylee Petry Greenville P Freshman First team

Taylor Rice Fairborn P Senior First team

Lauryn Rutan Troy IF Senior First team

Karsyn Shaffer Greenville IF Senior First team

Grace Shell Sidney P Senior First team

Lani Shilt Greenville OF Sophomore First team

Kaitlyn Stocker Tippecanoe C Senior First team

Brooke Aselage Tippecanoe Sophomore Second team

Makenzie Bates Sidney IF Senior Second team

Maddie Gibler Tippecanoe IF Senior Second team

Lexi Gordon Piqua IF Senior Second team

Sydney Grote Greenville Junior Second team

Makayla Hanes Greenville IF Senior Second team

Ella Johnson Xenia OF Sophomore Second team

Lou Jones Piqua IF Senior Second team

Meghan Kauffmann Tippecanoe OF Senior Second team

Megan Malott Troy OF Sophomore Second team

Bryanna McLeon Fairborn IF Senior Second team

Molly Miller Troy OF Junior Second team

Kaxandra Novales Stebbins OF Senior Second team

Madison Potts Troy IF Senior Second team

Kearston Riley Troy C Junior Second team

Sierra Sutton Tippecanoe P Senior Second team

Kacey Swiger Sidney C Junior Second team

Sydney Theobald Butler P Freshman Second team

Hailee Varvel Tippecanoe OF Junior Second team

Maddie White Sidney Junior Second team

Makayla Woody West Carrollton P Senior Second team

Taylor Yeager Tippecanoe IF Senior Second team

Chloe Becraft Fairborn C Senior Special mention

Mollie Berger Stebbins IF Freshman Special mention

Courtney Bryson Greenville OF Freshman Special mention

Reagan Carey Sidney OF Junior Special mention

Kelsie Coleman Fairborn IF Sophomore Special mention

Alyssa Davies West Carrollton OF Sophomore Special mention

Riley Davis Fairborn OF Freshman Special mention

Alexus Dunson Trotwood-Madison IF Junior Special mention

Destiny Ferrigno Fairborn IF Freshman Special mention

Abbi Lowe Stebbins OF Junior Special mention

Riley Oda West Carrollton IF Junior Special mention

Bailey Oliver Xenia P Sophomore Special mention

Josie Rohlfs Troy IF Sophomore Special mention

Brooke Shade Stebbins OF Sophomore Special mention

Ashley Shepherd Tippecanoe OF Senior Special mention

Brooke Silcox Tippecanoe IF Freshman Special mention

Sydney Smith Xenia IF Sophomore Special mention

Jordan Wilson Fairborn OF Junior Special mention

Malieja Woods Trotwood-Madison IF Junior Special mention

North Division awards

Player of the year: Kaitlyn Stocker, Tippecanoe

Coach of the year: Jerrod Newland, Greenville

South Division awards

Player of the year: Taylor Rice, Fairborn

Coach of the year: Tiffany Smith, Fairborn

National League team

Name School Position Grade Team

Chloe Allen Lebanon OF Senior First team

Aubrey Azbill Miamisburg P Senior First team

Cierra Chastain Beavercreek OF Senior First team

Madison DeGennaro Lebanon OF Junior First team

Tori Faulkner Miamisburg OF Junior First team

Kat Frank Lebanon OF Sophomore First team

Alex Gibson Lebanon IF Senior First team

Kara Gnau Centerville P Senior First team

Madison Hartman Lebanon IF Junior First team

Gabby Hougan Springboro OF Freshman First team

Lizzy Leach Centerville IF Senior First team

Taylor Lewis Lebanon P Senior First team

Anna Mangen Northmont IF Junior First team

Erin Mangen Northmont OF Senior First team

Breanna Musick Wayne OF Junior First team

Molly Osborne Lebanon C Junior First team

Marissa Philpot Wayne C Senior First team

Morgan Santos Wayne IF Senior First team

Alexis Strother Lebanon Senior First team

Shelbi Tharps Fairmont IF Senior First team

Sydney Weaver Northmont IF Junior First team

Taylor White Centerville OF Senior First team

Sam Boyer Wayne IF Senior Second team

Carrina Butler Miamisburg IF Senior Second team

Kelly Edsall Centerville C Senior Second team

Skylar Edwards Wayne OF Junior Second team

Emma Finch Northmont OF Senior Second team

Hali Geraci Springboro IF Senior Second team

Kayleigh Haddix Springfield IF Junior Second team

Sidney Harville Beavercreek P Senior Second team

Raidyn Johnson Beavercreek IF Junior Second team

Emilee McPeak Beavercreek IF Senior Second team

Karrie Mires Centerville OF Junior Second team

Marissa Norgrove Wayne P Senior Second team

Rachel Oxley Springboro IF Junior Second team

Shelby Reed Fairmont OF Junior Second team

Sam Ross Centerville IF Freshman Second team

Tyanna Seibert Springboro P Sophomore Second team

Sophie Weeber Springboro C Sophomore Second team

Ashley West Lebanon IF Sophomore Second team

Marissa Bardonaro Northmont IF Junior Special mention

Akshatha Bharadwaj Miamisburg OF Junior Special mention

Ashley Bosley Springboro IF Junior Special mention

Kali Brickman Wayne P Freshman Special mention

Taylor Collins Springboro OF Freshman Special mention

Makaila Foy Wayne IF Senior Special mention

Mackenzie Frantz Miamisburg OF Junior Special mention

Ashley Haas Miamisburg IF Junior Special mention

Rebecca Johnson Fairmont C Junior Special mention

Emily Kepple Miamisburg C Junior Special mention

Kirsten McCleary Springfield C Sophomore Special mention

Sydney McGilton Northmont C Junior Special mention

Maddie Neibert Beavercreek OF Freshman Special mention

Natasha Price Beavercreek C Junior Special mention

Kyra Rottgen Northmont OF Sophomore Special mention

Hillarie Spitler Fairmont P Freshman Special mention

Ryanne Stoffel Northmont IF Senior Special mention

Erin Teaney Miamisburg IF Junior Special mention

Keira Teserovitch Fairmont P Junior Special mention

Caitlin Wilson Fairmont IF Sophomore Special mention

East Division awards

Player of the year: Cierra Chastain, Beavercreek

Coach of the year: John Chelsey, Wayne

West Division awards

Player of the year: Alexis Strother, Lebanon

Coach of the year: Brian Kindell, Lebanon







Greenville’s Jerrod Newland was named the Greater Western Ohio Conference’s North Division softball coach of the year.’s Jerrod Newland was named the Greater Western Ohio Conference’s North Division softball coach of the year. Kyle Shaner | The Daily Advocate

By Kyle Shaner

[email protected]

Kyle Shaner may be reached at 937-569-4316. Follow me on Twitter @KShanerAdvocate or get updates on Facebook by searching Darke County Sports or Advocate 360. For more features online go to

No posts to display