8 Darke County football players named 1st team all-CCC


DARKE COUNTY – Eight Darke County football players earned first team all-Cross County Conference by the league for the 2017 football season.

Ansonia offensive lineman Nathan Denniston, Bradford tight end Jake Barga, Tri-Village running back Jared Buckley, Ansonia wide receiver Hunter Muir, Arcanum defensive lineman Dane Craport, Ansonia linebacker Max Wardrip, Ansonia kicker Michael Hall and Arcanum return specialist Daniel Coats all were named first team all-CCC.

Arcanum offensive lineman Jayden Heltsley, Tri-Village offensive lineman Dagan White, Tri-Village wide receiver Noah Burns, Ansonia tight end and defensive lineman Rygh Fortkamp, Bradford defensive lineman Josh Phillips, Mississinawa Valley linebacker Nate Gladdish, Tri-Village linebacker Cameren Munchel, Ansonia defensive back Cody Sanders and Tri-Village defensive back Christian Ricker each were named second team all-CCC.

Ansonia’s Hunter Buckingham, Andrew Rowland, Aydan Sanders and Jarvis Thwaits were named special mention all-conference.

Arcanum’s Andrew Baker, Devin Keckler, Noah Scarberry and Alex Weiss earned special mention recognition.

Bradford’s Hunter Gheen and Hunter Penkal made the CCC special mention team.

Mississinawa Valley’s Trent Collins, Cody Dirksen, Will Hall and Zeb Hannan earned special mention honors.

Tri-Village’s Dylan Finkbine made the special mention CCC team.

Miami East’s Vincent Villella was named the CCC back of the year, Fort Loramie’s Sam Puthoff was named the CCC lineman of the year, and Miami East’s Max Current was named the CCC coach of the year.

Miami East won the CCC championship with an 8-0 league record, Bethel and Fort Loramie tied for second at 7-1, Ansonia was fourth at 6-2, Covington finished fifth at 5-3, and Arcanum finished sixth at 4-4. Tri-County North and Twin Valley South tied for seventh with 3-5 league records, Tri-Village and National Trail tied for ninth at 2-6, Mississinawa Valley finished 11th with a 1-7 record, and Bradford finished 12th at 0-8.

All-CCC football

All-conference offense first team

OL- Nathan Denniston, Ansonia

OL- Cody Niswonger, Miami East

OL- Sam Puthoff, Ft. Loramie

OL- Hunter Shelley, Bethel

OL- Cody Smith, Miami East

OL- Caleb Snyder, Miami East

OL- Chandler Sproles, Tri-County North

TE- Jake Barga, Bradford

TE- Nolan Holthaus, Ft. Loramie

RB- Jared Buckley, Tri-Village

RB- Mike Hoying, Ft. Loramie

RB- Vincent Villella, Miami East

WR- Hunter Muir, Ansonia

WR- Chandler Napier, Twin Valley South

WR- Zach Parrett, Covington

QB- Jacob Evans, Bethel

QB- Cade Schmelzer, Covington

Kicker- Michael Hall, Ansonia

All-conference defense first team

DL- CJ Billing, Ft. Loramie

DL- Dane Craport, Arcanum

DL- Brenden Dalton, Miami East

DL- Collin Detrick, Ft. Loramie

DL- Lance Rohrbach, Miami East

LB- Ryan Bassler, Twin Valley South

LB- Colt Frazier, Miami East

LB- Max Hoying, Ft. Loramie

LB- Joe Schmelzer, Covington

LB- Max Wardrip, Ansonia

DB- Nick Brandewie, Ft. Loramie

DB- Blaine Brokschmidt, Miami East

DB- Justin Brown, Miami East

DB- Travis Durst, Bethel

DB- Ty Freeman, Covington

DB- Ethan Herron, Covington

Punter- Blaine Brokschmidt, Miami East

Return specialist- Daniel Coats, Arcanum

Back of the year: Vincent Villella, Miami East

Lineman of the year: Sam Puthoff, Ft. Loramie

Coach of the year: Max Current, Miami East

All-conference offense second team

OL- Beau Ashley, Twin Valley South

OL- Tyler Shoopman, Bethel

OL- Jayden Heltsley, Arcanum

OL- Dagan White, Tri-Village

OL- Preston Jackson, Tri-County North

QB- Evynn Short, National Trail

RB- Ryan Bassler, Twin Valley South

RB- Caleb South, Bethel

WR- Noah Burns, Tri-Village

WR- Zach Woodhall, National Trail

TE- Rygh Fortkamp, Ansonia

All-conference defense second team

DL- Parker Dysinger, Covington

DL- Rygh Fortkamp, Ansonia

DL- Dalton Mason, National Trail

DL- Josh Phillips, Bradford

DL- Wendell Webb, Twin Valley South

LB- Nate Gladdish, Mississinawa Valley

LB- Jared Evans, Bethel

LB- Cameren Munchel, Tri-Village

DB- Cody Barhorst, Ft. Loramie

DB- Mason Dreischarf, Tri-County North

DB- Cody Sanders, Ansonia

DB- Christian Ricker, Tri-Village

Special mention

Ansonia: Hunter Buckingham, Andrew Rowland, Aydan Sanders, Jarvis Thwaits.

Arcanum: Andrew Baker, Devin Keckler, Noah Scarberry, Alex Weiss

Bethel: Kellen Calhoun, Kendall James, Dylan Kelley, Pat Swinderman, Jacob Ullmer

Bradford: Hunter Gheen, Hunter Penkal

Covington: Andrew Cates, Jesse Fisher, Gage Kerrigan

Ft. Loramie: Carter Mescher, Austin Siegel, Logan Siegel

Miami East: Austin Kearns, Cameron Schellhouse

Mississinawa Valley: Trent Collins, Cody Dirksen, Will Hall, Zeb Hannan

National Trail: Angel Garabito, Jacob Heck, Joe Lawson, Levi Norton

Tri-County North: Josh Heindl, Clay Finney, Brian Stinson

Tri-Village: Dylan Finkbine

Twin Valley South: Isaac Clark, Cade Cottingim, John Gray, Nick Stacy









By Kyle Shaner

[email protected]

Kyle Shaner may be reached at 937-569-4316. Follow me on Twitter @KShanerAdvocate or get updates on Facebook by searching Darke County Sports or Advocate 360. For more features online go to dailyadvocate.com.

No posts to display