Ansonia and Versailles boys, FM girls conference cross country champions; CC roundup


DARKE COUNTY — The high school cross country teams competed in their league championships on Oct. 14. Here are where the county schools finished in their respective conference.


At Preble Shawnee, the Ansonia boys cross country team became the first team in Ansonia hist0ry to win the WOAC title. Matthew Lee finished first once again in the event with a time of 17:14.17. Bennett Lehman finished second with a time of 17:31.74 and Ethan Sparks took seventh with a time of 18:17.20. For the girls, Peyton Billenstein took second with a time of 22:06.07. Olivia Creager took fifth with a time of 22:34.62 and Irene Tovar Tejedor took 24th with a time of 26:00.56.

The Arcanum boys team took third overall. Malachi Wright took 12th with a time of 18:27.09. Kolin Frazee took 14th with a time of 18:30.34 and Micah Arbogast took 16th with a time of 18:42.53. For the girls, Arianne Garrison took seventh with a time of 22:45.48. Shyanna Cunningham took 32nd with a time of 27:26.86 while Gabrielle Brown and Danicka Michael took 38th and 39th with times of 29:09.5 and 29:18.91.

The Franklin Monroe boys team took sixth. Sam Haney took 13th with a time of 18:28.02. Parker Patrick took 27th with a time of 19:27.23 and Vail Cox took 33rd with a time of 19:48.73. The Lady Jets took first overall as a team and are WOAC champions. For the girls, Sami Stull took sixth with a time of 22:37.96. Sydney Baker took eighth with a time of 22:55.73 and Mia Brookey took tenth with a time of 23:25.92.

For Mississinawa Valley boys, Daniel Hartzell took 17th with a time of 18:45.91. For the girls, Rachael Philiposian took first with a time of 21:51.22. Ingrid Ojeda took third with a time of 22:14.86 and Kayaa Mote took 12th with a time of 23:36.25.

The Tri-Village boys team took seventh. Chris Brinley took 25th with a time of 19:19.37. Aden McConachie took 29th with a time of 19:31.82 and Carsen Dyson took 47th with a time of 20:48.96. For the girls, Addison Pipenger took 23rd with a time of 25:42.11.

For Bradford, Kyree Roberts took 53rd with a time of 22:08.97. Stephen Stewart took 55th with a time of 22:16.00 and Owen Bleachler took 60th with a time of 23:28.77. For the girls, Savannah Beachler took ninth with a time of 23:19.40. Natalie Wood took 13th with a time of 23:48.42 and Aaliyah Biddlestone took 40th with a time of 29:19.06.


At Coldwater High School, the Versailles boys cross country team claimed a MAC title with a first place finish. Tony Moorman finished third overall with a time of 16:17.57. Cameron Magoto finished ninth and Jackson Spitzer finished 11th with times of 17:07.37 and 17:14.49. Marcus Briscoe and Tony Spitzer finished 12th and 13th repectively. The girls team finished third in the event. Meredith Barga finished seventh with a time of 19:49.99. Ava Rismiller took tenth with a time of 20:11.54 and Gabby Spitzer finished 26th with a time of 21:26.37.


At Piqua, the Greenville boys team took fifth overall. Trey Rammel took 17th with a time of 17:25.77. Coleman McNulty took 27th with a time of 17:56.76 and Dominic Tanner took 29th with a time of 17:57.49. The Lady Wave took third overall. Clair Rammel took 17th, Ava Glass took 18th and Megan Lind took 19th. Rammel ran for a time of 22:20.95, Glass for a time of 22:27.05 and Megan Lind for a time of 22:28.61.

Contact Daily Advocate sports editor Drew Terhall at [email protected]

No posts to display